Dinosaur Valley Endurance Run – Trail Race Recap.

The weekend has come and gone and I’m here to share a race recap! And a NEW (to me) race at that!! The Dinosaur Valley Endurance Run held in Glen Rose, Texas!! This is a very unique trail and fun for seasoned trail runners, or even those who are just embarking on the dirt path! It’s also really cool because they showcase old fossils and footprints of dinosaurs who once inhabited the trail forever ago. Upon entering Glen Rose, you see the dino replicas all over the freaking place.

I arrived to town on Friday evening and immediately pulled up my Yelp to see where all the hot spots were at for dinner. I landed on Whisky Woods.

The place was a hoot and super gorgeous inside / very southern in décor with cowboy things on the wall. It is just something about being in the country that makes my soul happy. Since I was there solo I chopped it up at the bar with the marvelous server and staff. The bartender dude was inspired by hearing about my upcoming trail race, so we chatted while I enjoyed the grilled bread and bites.

Saturday morning I was up bright and early to head to the park. My race started at 8 AM. I ended up deciding on the 25k. I have another race scheduled soon so this one was a great benchmark for the next! The cool thing about this race also, was that with the varying distances you could decide what day you wanted to run, either Saturday or Sunday. I just wanted to knock this one out plus it was just great weather and great energy first thing on Saturday morning. We had some drizzles come through (Sunday was heavier rains, HA glad I did not race in a storm) but overall the trails were in decent shape. Some slick spots especially on rocks, so a lot of just watching the ground so I didn’t slip. This particular trail is pretty technical in parts and a lot of loose rocks! Kind of rough and tough but truthfully that is what I like the most. Never a dull moment – keeping you on your toes.

We got started and the trail started out with some rocky climbs. I was SOOOO proud of myself for not falling the entire 25k distance and I also did this run ‘naked’ (no data for over 15 miles). I enjoyed meeting new folks and high fiving some of my old trail cronies along the way. The aid stations were also fully stocked so I grabbed cold mountain dew and grilled quesadillas with avocado in them. Those were actually amazing and I think I’ve discovered my new favorite trail racing fuel.

LOVED this course overall especially the scenic overlooks. And this slippery bridge! We had some fun peeps out there hooping and hollering and bringing the good energy the entire time.

I was very happy I ended up choosing this distance for Dino Valley and without a doubt would run it again! It was great being back out in the trail community too with folks. I’ve always felt a warmth in this community that I frankly have not found on the roads. I am still a hybrid (roadie and trail) girl though. My next ultra I am looking at will be paved. The trails are great for agility and to get stronger on the road, so this will be my happy little strategy building back up to ultras. But trails will always have my HEART and soul and I enjoy the challenge. It’s something you can’t quite put into words when trails just…speak to you. I always leave a trail feeling a peace and hearing the sounds of nature. Pure bliss.

That is all this week – stay tuned because I’m ramping up along with getting excited about teaching cycle at a brand NEW gym! Til next time. Hope you dear readers have a lovely Thanksgiving. Try to get out, away from yo crazy FAM A LAM – take breaks and get your sweat on in between grubbin’.

How was your weekend?! Anyone else really resonating with hitting the trails lately?!

Published by thedancingrunner

Marathon runner & group fitness instructor at 24 Hour Fitness. Passionate about family, friends, traveling. Loves destination races. Loves dining out, cooking in, being around down to earth people, writing, sunrises.

One thought on “Dinosaur Valley Endurance Run – Trail Race Recap.

Leave a comment