Holiday Style Survey.

Last night’s purse party gift exchange was a good time. One of the rules was that once a bag was stolen twice, it was considered dead. I got lucky since I was one of the last ones to go…and my bag had already been stolen once. So I got exactly what I wanted. Success!

This morning I got up bright and early for a 3 mile run, then did some strength training at the apt gym. It was a wham-bam-thankyou-ma’am kind of a workout, but glad I got it done. Then I went to work and had a little holiday treat for breakfast. A mini caramel apple w/ sprinkles (gift given to me by a coworker) and holiday tea. Yummy!

So the holiday fun continues tonight…headed to Luke’s Locker in Plano for their Nike sponsored Ladies Night and ‘Beat Goes On’ Spring Training Orientation. It should be a great time. I am definitely looking forward to training for some races with my buddies in the spring and coaching some new running faces. And the Ladies Night is always great because you get to hang with the girls and there are such awesome giveaways!

At the last Luke's ladies nite event

I thought it would be fun to switch it up today…and do a fun holiday survey (inspired by PB Fingers)! So here goes…

Holiday Style Survey

Colored lights on tree/house or white?

Colored lights of course! Nothing is prettier to me than seeing a beautiful mix of colorful lights.

Christmas lights at the Gaylord Texan resort in Grapevine...so beautiful!

Real tree or fake tree?

Fake…so easy to just pull it out of storage, plug it in, and you’re good to go. Last year I literally kept all of my ornaments and lights on my tree, so all I had to do this year was slide it out, make a few adjustments, and done decorating. No fuss, just like I like it.

What is your favorite holiday dish (excluding dessert)?

I’m a sucker for mac and cheese…what can I say. Thankfully I make a mean skinny version of mac n cheese!

Favorite Holiday memory as a child?

Waking up early to all the gifts under the tree…and most of them were for me since I was an only child. Spoiled rotten.

Snow? Love it or dread it?

Well…since I live in TX and it hardly snows here…I can’t say I’m the biggest fan…it’s pretty for a little while, but I need my roads clear so I can do all of my running around…

Snow outside my apartment last year...it's pretty but trying to run outside in it is not.

Do you hang mistletoe?

No but I would like to…maybe I can find some pretty mistletoe at a crafts store somewhere and put it up…like this one I found on Pinterest:

fancy.

Hot chocolate or apple cider?

Mmm I cannot resist me some caramel apple cider…especially from Starbucks…with a little bit of whip and lots of yummy caramel. I can always find an excuse for a Starbucks apple cider break.

What’s the most important thing about Christmas for you?

Spending time with family, friends, and just cherishing and relishing in every moment. I am quite fortunate to be living so close to my mom, dad (who lives in Houston, but still get to see him a few times out of the year) boyfriend and lots of fun girlfriends and running buddies. I love getting to go to the annual gift exchange parties, catching up with old friends, and just enjoying each other’s company.

Me & the BF last year at an ice sculpture exhibit...chilly fun times!

Does Santa wrap presents or just sit them under the tree?

Wraps them, of course? Is there any other way?

What is your favorite Holiday dessert?

Peppermint bark. Hands down. Well, that and my new fave, pumpkin peanut butter brownies.

I could devour it in one sitting, honestly.

Do you have a Christmas morning tradition?

Always get up Christmas morning…have breakfast which consists of my mom’s homestyle grits, turkey bacon/sausage, eggs & toast…and open gifts. Last year, me and E exchanged gifts Christmas morning at my house, and I got up and made breakfast…french toast, grits, bacon. Yummy.

Me & E's first Christmas together last year! Gifts galore.

The yummy Christmas morning breakfast I made...may have to re-create this one this year.

What tops your tree?

A snowflake tree topper I bought from Walgreens…hey, don’t hate on Walgreens! They have some rockin’ Christmas stuff there for great deals!

What is your favorite Christmas Song?

Oh, this is a tough one because I love me some Christmas music, so it would have to be a tie between “Carol of the Bells” & “This Christmas”

Do you prefer to shop on-line or at the mall?

At the mall…because I’d rather have whatever I’m buying in my hand than have to wait for it. Being the impatient, bratty only child that I am.

Now you tell me: YOUR favorite Christmas tradition? Favorite Christmas food/drink/dessert?

2 thoughts on “Holiday Style Survey.

  1. favorite christmas tradition is making cookies….dozens and dozens of them for our annual cookie exchange. Then promptly give them all away since we are always watching our weight, but I always save a few for myself even if I have to do a few extra miles!
    My best cookie is a brownie chunk cookie with white chocolate & dried cranberries. I enjoy this very decadent cookie with an equally decadent glass of rose champagne served in an elegant crytal flute. Divine!!!!

Leave a Reply

